Bead Table Wednesday

I’s Bead Table Wednesday again! Finishing the matching necklace to yesterday’s earrings, and the rest is to become simple bracelets with memory wire and one of the little charms I used to make from my leftovers a while back. I wanted something that I can throw together pretty fast and easy, with materials that aren’t too expensive, because I’m thinking of attempting to sell a couple of little things at the local christmas market. People don’t have much money here, and they don’t value handmade particularly. I tried this a couple of years ago already, so I don’t really know why I bother – must be masochistic tendencies. I didn’t sell a single thing, and the conversations with potential customers weren’t exactly a boost to my self esteem either… a couple of examples for your entertainment:

Customer (looking at a necklace interestedly, then incredulous upon seeing the pricetag): “How much is this?”
Me (confused, thinking that maybe I dind’t write clearly enough): “Ten Euro.”
Customer (looking appalled): “I could get a real necklace for that!”
(turns her back on me and walks off without a goodbye)

Since she can’t have meant gold and jewels, I can only assume that a real necklace would be made by the thousands in a real factory by real underpaid chinese workmen… *rolleyes*

And another:

Customer (looking at a necklace, then at me interestedly): “You made this?”
Me: “Yes, I did.”
Customer (pointing out one of my art beads): “These look interesting, do you know what they are made of?”
Me: “Yes, actually, I made those myself, too.” (she looks impressed) “They are made of polymer clay…” (intentionally using a word she might not know rather than the brand name)
Customer: “Polywhat?”
Me (inner sigh): “Fimo.”
Customer: “Ah… yes. I know that.” (looks at me with a positively disgusted expression) “My son did that once… in kindergarten.”
(turns her back on me and walks off without a goodbye)

Check out the Flickr group to see what other beady people have on their table:

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

