Monthly Challenge February

This month‘s lovely inspiration painting is John Singer Sargent’s “Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose”:

 

As I believe I’ve said before, the colour palette really gave me headaches:

 

It’s so… soft. Sweet. Girly. Romantic. And I just don’t have a hand for that stuff. But, I had to try. So I got some pinks and purples and a nice dark green, and sat down to make some “hidden magic”.  It was my first serious attempt at this technique, so the results are OK, I guess. First I made the pendant that I showed you yesterday, then some connectors to pick up the green – I like the somewhat leafy appearance of those. I went for a look that’s both romantic and modern, therefore the design is asymmetrical. The stacked papillon seed beads make me think of a panicle, maybe lilac.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Monthly Challenge February”

  1. Lori Anderson Says:

    I absolutely love this.

  2. Beth Says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! It is so feminine and perfect!

  3. Mallory Says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

