Bracelet #6

I didn’t manage to participate in any of the challenges I had planned for the last month 😦 I am very busy, started a new job yesterday, so I just don’t have the nerves for jewelry right now. No inspiration either, but if that were the only problem, I could still draw on the inspirations from the last months for a while, I guess…

Two half-finished necklaces are waiting for me, so were the last two monthly bracelets for April – this is one of them. OK, it’s simple again, but I wanted to finally use those beads and this was the only thing I could come up with. Tomorrow I’ll show the final bracelet, the most complicated one of the bunch. I just finished it, but it’s night now, so I can’t take a photo – check back tomorrow! There’s one of my Alice-inspired connectors in it, some ceramic, some bronze and some shimmer. I’m really curious what you think about it πŸ˜‰

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Bracelet #6”

  1. Soapaholic Says:

    Wow, that’s CUTE! And it’s really clever because I suppose the double chain provides a nice counterweight to the beads so they won’t keep sliding down to the underside of your wrist like many other bracelets.

    Congrats to your new job, I hope it’s all okay now – the first days are always exhausting (so many new faces and names to memorize ;-)), but I hope it will leave you time to make new jewelry!

    • kiwiken Says:

      Thanks. I made several bracelets in this style, and it depends on the beads – the really big glass beads are still a little too heavy, but smaller ones like these work well, and so does polymer clay. But I can’t take the credit for the idea with the double chain, I started making bracelets in this style after Lorelei (http://lorelei1141.blogspot.com/) posted a tutorial for a similar one on Art Bead Scene.

      Well yes, the job’s OK, not exactly exciting, and there’s not really many new faces around, as only two people work there permanently, one of which I already knew πŸ˜‰ (plus the janitor, a bunch of student helpers and a lady from the company that owns the building)
      No need to worry about the jewelry either – after spending all day at the computer typing columns of numbers and animal names (booooring), beading is about the only thing I can stand doing in the evening πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

