Vintage Button Bracelet

So far I was under the impression that people tend to like my necklaces better than the other types of jewelry I make. Upon a closer look though, this may be entirely due to the fact that I made a lot more necklaces than anything else. So, I’d really like to know: What jewelry do you like best in general? What do you think I’m best at making and what needs improvement? What would you like to see more of around here? If you follow my blog, please vote or comment and make me happy! 🙂

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Vintage Button Bracelet”

  1. Erin Prais-Hintz Says:

    I would say that you should mix it up. I am completely bracelet challenged. They never seem to turn out right. But I keep trying! I like to make necklaces most of all, but that is mostly because I like to wear them. Earrings next. And my necklaces tend to be over the top statement pieces and I like putting the puzzles together to suit my clients’ tastes. But I would say as long as you are growing and evolving it doesn’t much matter.

    I like this bracelet with its Asian influence. But I think it needs a bright pop of color, like a small knot of some red silk sari that will fray and add interest to the joint where the button loop is to hide that gap. Well done! Enjoy the day! Erin

    • kiwiken Says:

      Same here. I like to make necklaces, and it’s about the only thing I wear.
      I just keep thinking that a little more variety won’t hurt, and that it would be cool to get a few bracelets made… but when I pick up the beads and just start something, it always turns out a necklace. Even with this one, that I had intended to be a bracelet from the start, I had to fight the part of me that was constantly whispering: “You could make it a necklace, you know?”

      Maybe it would be a nice challenge to do nothing but bracelets for a month, force myself to get out of my comfort zone… but then there’s that idea for that challenge of yours – it’s for a necklace, of course 😉

      You know, your idea with the red sari silk is just awesome! Why can’t I think of these kind of things? I always tend to work in boring tone-in-tone colour schemes. I would never have thought of putting a splash of red in there, but it’s the perfect idea. The button is from an old dress my mother used to wear when she was young, and I believe she told me that it was red as well. Now I’d only need red sari silk ribbon…

Leave a Reply

