Inspired by… the Universe

As you may have guessed by the title, the long awaited next challenge is up on Treasures Found – and the new inspiration is nothing less than… the entire universe!

Isn’t that awesome? I love the stars… I even used to have a little telescope on my balcony (right now I don’t, for lack of a balcony). Nevertheless, I was a little overwhelmed at first. Erin mentioned in a comment that googling the Universe brought up some really colourful pictures, and so it did – but in my experience (that is: for the naked eye, not Hubble), the nightsky is all black and silver. Nothing against that, actually. But I had been creating colourless all the past month for the Art Bead Scene challenge, and I was tired of it. So, colours then. My first idea was to create an Art Bead specifically for this challenge, inspired by a particular picture. But, I will have to try a new technique to achieve what I want, and I have no idea if it will work out at all. And that means that this project will take time – but I wanted to start beading immediately!!

I had sorted my polymer clay charms in the past few days – mostly stuff I made out of leftovers, or trials for a new technique. I rarely used any of them, but now there was a whole heap of little, colourful stars. Really colourful, actually. Some mokume gane experiment, one block of green and blue, and one of blue and violet, turned out a lot more… intense than I had expected it to. It looked like candy, really, except that it was sparkly as well.

Consequently, the little necklaces I made look quite a bit girlish and cutesy:

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Inspired by… the Universe”

  1. Erin Prais-Hintz Says:

    Sweet! I am so glad to have you playing along! The Universe is full of so much more color than we normally think of and I am so with you on the color (although last night I found my old monochromatic self creeping out to create!) Thanks for the blog love!
    Enjoy the day!
    Erin

Leave a Reply

