Leaves Whisper

This is the necklace I mentioned yesterday, the last one I made for this month’s challenge. It is somewhat similar to necklaces I made before, but a little different. I had wanted to do something with dangles on that leaf for a while… originally, the pendant (without the dangles) was supposed to become a pair of earrings. But then I didn’t have enough of the jet swarovski bicones for the other one, and this single earring has been lying around for three months now. In the store they kept telling me “next week” again and again, and now I’m sick of it. I ordered some elsewhere, but it will take a while until they’re here, so I just made the earring into a pendant.

The name for the necklace comes from a song (by Leaves Eyes) that I just happened to listen to while creating it, and I though it fits. I had to think of the sound that branches (not really the leaves) make when the rain freezes on them, encasing them in a layer of ice. They look like trees made of glass, and they sound like delicate wind chimes (not quite as nice if the same thing happens to your car, turning it into an ice cube).

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

