Inspired by… Hardware Stores I

So, this is my first entry for the challenge on Treasures Found. I wanted to start simple, so no art beads. But I will try to finish that necklace beginning, and I have an idea for a bracelet as well (I’m not going to say yet what hardware I’m using on that one, at least it’s something I haven’t seen anyone else use so far).

The retaining ring isn’t, exactly, a new idea. I’ve seen Heather Powers of Humblebeads use these in those lovely creations below:

Necklace by Heather Powers of Humblebeads

Earrings by Heather Powers of Humblebeads

And YouniquelyChic does (among other things) some awesome Biohazard signs with them.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Inspired by… Hardware Stores I”

  1. Erin Prais-Hintz Says:

    Nicely done! I love those little retaining rings. I forgot about them. Thanks for the reminder. And thanks for spreading the word! I am looking forward to the other fun creations you make! Enjoy the day! Erin

  2. Sharon Palac Says:

    They are all so pretty and unique! Great job for the challenge.

    • kiwiken Says:

      Just the little earrings at the top are mine, so you don’t get the wrong idea… Gosh, I hope I made that clear enough in my text? I had linked to Humblebeads’ blog and flickr, just to share some of the most beautiful retaining ring creations I have seen. I now put captions on those two pictures as well, I hope that makes it more obvious.

      Btw., I didn’t even find any retaining rings big enough to use in a necklace. Those tiny ones in the upper picture were actually the largest I could get.

Leave a Reply

