Twilight?

A new necklace I made this evening. It has been inspired by the twilight-inspired jewelry I saw on Art Bead Scene some days ago. I haven’t read the books or watched the films, I guess I’m too old for teenie romance. I would probably have loved it ten years ago, though.

The necklace also features a heart charm by Lynn Davis, which I won on a Studio Saturday drawing on Art Bead Scene a while ago. It has been sitting in my stock waiting, and I always wanted to do something dark and romantic with it… Here’s a closeup on the pendant (I believe it’s resin), front and back:

I like the result, except maybe for the dark jumpring in the bottom. It’s bit dark to take good photos at this time, but you get a rough idea what it looks like when worn. (EDIT: you can now see a higher resolution picture on my DeviantART gallery)

Also, Erin’s first challenge has been announced: use something from a hardware store. The half-finished necklace that has been lying around for months was going to have some washers – maybe that’s a sign. On the other hand, I’d like to include something a little more unusual. I’ll have to see what my hardware store has, they seem to have everything from beads over polymer clay to scented candles, but I’m not so sure they have the stuff they _ought_ to sell. I don’t think we have a little shop as an alternative around here, though, so it will have to do.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Twilight?”

  1. Erin Prais-Hintz Says:

    Yippee! I am so glad that you are interested in playing along in the first Inspired by… challenge. I love your necklace. I am on the fringes of being inspired by those books and movies…never seen them or read them, but have been enjoying great success with the earrings that were commissioned by the husband of a fanatic. Seems that I have opened the door to more.

    Looking forward to seeing what treasures your local hardware store has!
    Enjoy the day!
    Erin

Leave a Reply

