Buggy Bracelet II – The Butterfly

I made another bracelet inspired by Silver Parrot’s challenge – even though I can enter only once, and it ends today anyway. I am really fond of how the colours of this one turned out. But it was hard to get the fit right… I used a bronze toggle first – too short. Then I made this hook clasp from copper wire – still a little too short. In the end, I just added some extender chain, so now I can wear it, and I will! I ended up using my new bronze metal core beads, which I had already shown you – I didn’t intend to, I wanted to use some bronze connectors, but it just didn’t look balanced.

The bracelet was inspired by this picture of a Spicebush Swallowtail (Papilio troilus):

This butterfly lives in North America and happens to have pretty interesting caterpillars – they are first very small and brown, later they turn green and in the end they are yellow-orange, just before they pupate. But the funniest thing: they have a swollen thorax with very realistic eyespots, as you can see in this beautiful photo. For human eyes, I think this makes them look incredibly cute. In the eyes of a bird, it makes them look like a small snake 😉

Spicebush swallowtail caterpillar (Papilio troilus), ursprünglich hochgeladen von Michael Hodge

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Buggy Bracelet II – The Butterfly”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Wonderful interpretation of the butterfly! Beautiful colors.

Leave a Reply

