Bead Diet

I have been to the craft store yesterday, but I did not buy anything spectacular I could show you today – I am on a “bead diet” until christmas. I had to buy findings (chain, jump rings, clasps…) anyway. It is hard to go to a craft store and not even take a look at all those beads, because I would inevitably take some home. The idea is to use up beads from my stash, so I have room for new things – I may buy beads for a specific project I have in mind, if it also includes some of the beads I have lying around. So I did buy a few staple beads: jet swarovskis in 6mm to try them with my new variant of metal core beads, more golden spirals so I can make a matching necklace and earrings for my beetle bracelet, and a few tiny wood beads for the next bug bracelet I’m planning to create.

No new photos, so I’ll just show you my main stash. It is a wooden box with a glass lid and a single drawer.

The top layer is used mainly (but not exclusively) for gemstone beads and pearls, to the right are some seed beads:

The drawer is used mainly (but not exclusively) for metal beads and charms, as well as wood beads, to the left are swarovski bicones. In the top middle cubicle I store all single leftofer beads:

Glass beads in red and blue, the two main colours I use, are stored separately, and so are art beads.

Finally, please go have a look at the newest bracelet challenge entry at The Joy of Nesting: it is inspired by the butterfly and includes the birthstones of her kids!

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Bead Diet”

  1. Sharon Palac Says:

    Nice stash, and I like your storage method, very neat! I must restrain myself from beady bargains because I have so many stones sometimes I think I’ll never use them all. Comes with being a bead packrat!

Leave a Reply

