Bracelets, Beads and Beetles

Yay! Silver Parrot, who posed the bracelet challenge, has been so kind to feature my bracelet on her beautiful blog! πŸ™‚

So far, there are two entries, and the other one has also been inspired by the same beetle picture as mine: Emanda of Artemisia’s Studio made a very lovely two-stranded bracelet in green and orange-brown, with leaf-shaped mother-of-pearl dangles. She also found out that the bug is a turtoise beetle (some kind of leaf beetle) from Nicaragua, probably the species Physonota attenuate – forgive me if I bore you, as a biologist I find that kind of information very interesting ;). They apparently lose their beautiful colours entirely when they die, so they’re not going to be the highlight of someone’s beetle collection.

I had actually pondered a similar colour scheme first, these are all the beads that I had created (with an Euro cent for size comparison):

You can’t see it very well in the picture, but the bronze beads have copper metal leaf instead of gold. So in the end, I didn’t know how to use both in the same bracelet, but if I can think of something, I will create another one. Maybe with chain in both copper and gold, or on a black leather cord.

Oh, and there won’t be a blog post tomorrow. My boyfriend will receive his university degree, both our parents are going to visit, so it will be a very busy day – no blogging time or creative time for me πŸ˜‰

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

